• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Chili Help?

Swine Spectator

is Blowin Smoke!

Batch Image
Reaction score
I got roped into entering a Chili Cook-off in two weeks to benefit local Law Enforcement.

I have made chili, but I am no expert. I do not have a set recipe. Are there any brethren willing to share some tips so I can have a fighting chance (not asking for your secret recipes)?

David

Someone asked a similar question probably 2-3 weeks afo, might want to look for that thread if you havent done so already. A brethern posted a green chili on there that looked really good, and i want to try that one sometime soon... We don't do a lot of chili, especially enough to be able to offer advice. I'll see if i can find the other thread, cant remember if i saved the freen chili recipe anyway!

Below is a basic recipe I've been using for years. Never comes out precisely the same because it's based on fresh peppers and they vary a lot. Fresh peppers are best. I like a variety of them in chili...lends a balance. Taste test each variety for flavor and heat just to see what you're dealing with. They're all different. Not just by type of pepper, but where/when they were grown.

Ingredients:
2# ground chuck
2# ground pork
2 tbl olive oil
½ cup red wine
2 cups beef stock
2 cans crushed or diced tomatoes (28 oz)
1 can tomato paste (6 oz)
2 Anaheim peppers (seed & fine chop all peppers)
6 jalapeno peppers
2 Serrano peppers
2 red finger peppers
2-3 large white onions (medium-fine chop)
8 large cloves garlic (minced)
½ tsp red chili flakes
2 tbl dried oregano
2 tbl dried basil
2 tbl ground cumin
1 tbl gray sea salt
2 cans red kidney beans (19 oz, rinsed)
2 cans black beans (19 oz, rinsed)

Very simple cook:
Brown meat in olive oil, drain. Add remaining ingredients and simmer covered 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Sometimes wait an hour before adding the beans.