Christmas Smoker Recommendations

McDaddys

Found some matches.
Reaction score
New to the forum, I really appreciate all the experience and knowledge here. I have put in my request to my family for a new smoker for Christmas. I currently have a vertical masterbuilt pro (my starter smoker, please don't judge). I am looking at an offset under $400. I do not mind doing mods, as I did a few to the masterbuilt to get it where I wanted it.

In your humble opinions, what are your recommendations? Bandera? Highland? Pecos? Any others?

Best bang for the buck?

THANK YOU!!

New to the forum, I really appreciate all the experience and knowledge here. I have put in my request to my family for a new smoker for Christmas. I currently have a vertical masterbuilt pro (my starter smoker, please don't judge). I am looking at an offset under $400. I do not mind doing mods, as I did a few to the masterbuilt to get it where I wanted it.

In your humble opinions, what are your recommendations? Bandera? Highland? Pecos? Any others?

Best bang for the buck?

THANK YOU!!
Going from an electric to a stick burner seems like a big jump, why not ask for a pellet grill like a traeger?

The Masterbuilt I have is one of the dual fuels that I have converted completely over to charcoal/wood. I like the "big smoke" of stick burning, so that is my motivation regarding not doing pellets.

I believe that the Old Country Pecos and the OK Joe Highland are around that price. I have never cooked on an Old Country pit but have on occasion cooked on a OK Joe, they are decent IMO. In the world of offsets a higher quality pit will make the it much easier to use.

The Masterbuilt I have is one of the dual fuels that I have converted completely over to charcoal/wood. I like the "big smoke" of stick burning, so that is my motivation regarding not doing pellets.

When you say "big smoke" I assume you mean high volume clean smoke and not big bellowing smoke?