MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  



Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2018, 07:26 AM   #1
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default Signals 1st use



Going to do a butt today using the Signals. First thing that I really like is that the app will change the display and settings on the unit. Couldn’t do this with the Smoke/Gateway.
Judging from the information displayed on the app, it looks like you can use the Signals and Smoke at the same time. One glance and you can see a total of six probes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote




Old 11-04-2018, 07:40 AM   #2
Big George's BBQ
somebody shut me the fark up.


 
Big George's BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-08
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Name/Nickname : George
Default

Looks Great Looking forward to your review
__________________
Large BIG Green EGG- Hatched 8/17/09
Backwoods Extented Party
Weber Genesis Gasser
Mid Atlantic BBQ Association
KCBS
Back Porch BBQ Competition BBQ Team
Proud Member of the Zero Club

When all else fails ask yourself WWGALD
Big George's BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 11-04-2018, 09:01 AM   #3
robert-r
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-15
Location: AntHome 92025
Default

Subscribed! Can't get my Signals to accept my wifi. Will talk to Thermoworks support tomorrow. Have a feeling my 5G wifi is not liked by Signals.
__________________
18.5/14.5 WSMs, 26.5 XL, 22.5 Performer, JJ & SJ Kettles, OKJ Highland, Genesis 330
robert-r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 10:09 AM   #4
Kevin89
On the road to being a farker
 
Join Date: 06-24-18
Location: Columbia, MD
Name/Nickname : Kevin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert-r View Post
Subscribed! Can't get my Signals to accept my wifi. Will talk to Thermoworks support tomorrow. Have a feeling my 5G wifi is not liked by Signals.
Thermoworks specs on website states it is 2.4Ghz compatible not 5Ghz.
__________________
WSM22, 18.5 Kettle w/ Vortex https://imgur.com/user/KevinsSmokes
Kevin89 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 11-04-2018, 11:11 AM   #5
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert-r View Post
Subscribed! Can't get my Signals to accept my wifi. Will talk to Thermoworks support tomorrow. Have a feeling my 5G wifi is not liked by Signals.


All I know is it connected automatically to my network and it’s been working flawlessly for the last 4 hours. Maybe it automatically connected to the 2.4 ghz?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 11:15 AM   #6
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default Signals 1st use

Just checked my network and it did auto connect to the 2.4 ghz.
It looks like all my devices that need/prefer 5.0 auto connect to that and the 2.4 ones do the same.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 12:00 PM   #7
robert-r
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-15
Location: AntHome 92025
Default

Got it workin'! Doesn't auto connect to the 2.4 ghz - it finds the 5.0. However, I know the name of the 2.4 & when I enter that and then a password - all is good.
__________________
18.5/14.5 WSMs, 26.5 XL, 22.5 Performer, JJ & SJ Kettles, OKJ Highland, Genesis 330
robert-r is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 11-04-2018, 12:22 PM   #8
sleebus.jones
is One Chatty Farker

 
sleebus.jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-12-16
Location: Fulshear, TX
Name/Nickname : sleebs
Default

Can you share a link of the graphs?
__________________
-=<Cookshack PG1000 | GMG Davy Crockett WiFi | GMG Jim Bowie WiFi | Cindy, the cinderblock reverse flow pit | Fireboard>=-
The weather in Sleeb's backyard
sleebus.jones is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 01:13 PM   #9
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleebus.jones View Post
Can you share a link of the graphs?


You can export them


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 02:47 PM   #10
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default

Just pulled my butt off the Stumps. The Signals was on for 7.5 hours and the battery icon is still showing full. If it could only last 16 hours, it should be showing half?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 03:02 PM   #11
robert-r
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-15
Location: AntHome 92025
Default

The instructions say to "check the Thermoworks BBQ app for battery percentage". However, I can't find that info on the app.
__________________
18.5/14.5 WSMs, 26.5 XL, 22.5 Performer, JJ & SJ Kettles, OKJ Highland, Genesis 330
robert-r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2018, 03:54 PM   #12
NYC ‘Que
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 05-16-18
Location: Bronx NY
Name/Nickname : T.J.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert-r View Post
The instructions say to "check the Thermoworks BBQ app for battery percentage". However, I can't find that info on the app.


Can’t find it either


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Stumps XL Baby, PKTX, Weber Kettle 26, MAK 1 Star General
NYC ‘Que is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-05-2018, 10:42 AM   #13
robert-r
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-15
Location: AntHome 92025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert-r View Post
The instructions say to "check the Thermoworks BBQ app for battery percentage". However, I can't find that info on the app.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC ‘Que View Post
Can’t find it either


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I called tech support at Thermoworks about this. So: touch any of the circles on the home page and it brings up another one. Touch the settings icon in the upper right corner and it brings up the sensor setting page. At the bottom there is an options bar. Touch that - Probe Options appears. And then select advanced info. It lists battery power as a percentage of 100. Also of interest, it tells the strength of the wifi connection. The range is between 30 and 90. 30 being excellent and 90 is useless.
__________________
18.5/14.5 WSMs, 26.5 XL, 22.5 Performer, JJ & SJ Kettles, OKJ Highland, Genesis 330
robert-r is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 11-05-2018, 11:46 AM   #14
W.I.T.W.A.G?
Full Fledged Farker

 
Join Date: 08-27-08
Location: Madison WI
Name/Nickname : Jeff
Default

Judging from the information displayed on the app, it looks like you can use the Signals and Smoke at the same time. One glance and you can see a total of six probes.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
so you can see your smoke probes as well? I'm assuming this is only if you have the gateway for your smoke. That's cool.
I'm also curious about the graphing in the app and what it looks like.
__________________
Jeff

Why Is The Whiskey Always Gone?
http://www.ironsidesmokers.com
W.I.T.W.A.G? is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-05-2018, 01:25 PM   #15
scribe9154
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-30-17
Location: US
Default

How's the app alarms sound level? Is it louder than the smoke? Smoke isn't very lout for overnight smokes.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
scribe9154 is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.
Custom search MAY not work(no display box) in some configurations of Internet Explorer. Please use compliant version of Firefox or Chrome.







All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts