BBQ Bro's I NEED SOME QUICK HELP!

DavidEHickey

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
A club I belong to "Shamrock Athletic Club" decided to have a spring Corn Roast and Pork Roast. I volunteered to do the pulled pork. Not sure how many people will attend I'm guessing 50. As I've never done mass smoked pork before I have a few questions I was hoping you could help me with.

1. I bought 55 pounds of pork shoulders, should this be plenty if I have 50 people attend?

2. I've heard many internal temperatures for pulled pork. What is everyones opinion on the best temperature to remove the shoulders. 190, 195, 200. I intend to wrap and put in cooler for probably a couple hours before pulling so the temp may rise a little after removal.

3. I've only cooked one shoulder at a time in the past. It states 1 1/2 hour per pound will cooking mulitple shoulders affect the total cooking time? or will it be based more on the size of the largest shoulder. Just not sure how much time to alott for cooking. Last one I did took 12 hours

4. Best method??? I was planning on using Chris Lillys championship shoulder recipe thats posted all over the internet for the Rub and wondering if the injection part is actually neccessary I think it was pretty much apple juice water and Worchestershire sauce and salt. Will it really help the meat?

Well any help would be appreciated, I want to impress the members! Or any ideas other than Chris Lillys recipe I would entertain! Thanks

I inject mine with a citrus juice the night before. I put the rub on while the fire gets to temp and remove at 195 wrap and throw in the cooler for a couple hours.

It has been said 30% of weight is lost during a cook. So 55# of shoulder will reuce to about 38# or so. When I cooked 35# of shoulder, I placed it in a cooler when it hit 185*. When I went to pull it 4 hours later, it was almost still to hot to touch. That cook took about 10hrs around 250*. After foiling around 165*, I did crank the heat up to around 300*.