MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 05-30-2020, 06:54 PM   #1
Titch
somebody shut me the fark up.

Name/Nickname : Titch :-)
Default Is this a good mexican rice recipe

http://allrecipes.com.au/recipe/29729/mexican-rice.aspx

Whats your thoughts or recipe
Titch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2020, 07:03 PM   #2
gtr

It's probably not a bad recipe - never tried it. Looks like it hits the basic principles as I understand them. I'm far from an expert, but I've had great luck with Rick Bayless' recipes and I think I've made this one - can't remember.

https://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/mexican-red-rice/

The technique of sauteeing the rice in the oil before adding the water in the allrecipes recipe is more like what a Mexican woman taught me once though.

If you have some kind of stock or broth to use instead of water, I'd definitely do that. Or maybe throw in a buillon cube.
50" Klose BYC, Spitjack XB85, 22.5 WSM, Backwoods Chubby, UDS, WRK, 26" & 22.5" Weber Kettles, Jumbo Joe, WGA, WSJ/MUDS, Kanka Grill, a piece of expanded metal I throw over the fire pit sometimes, Stealthy Black & Vol Orange Thermapens
Displaced East Tennesseean
Proud recipient of a Tick
Former outlaw MOINK baller, now IMBAS Certified, but still lookin' over my shoulder.
"Relax, it's only BBQ." - Bigmista, 2013
"Don't worry about playing a lot of notes. Just find one pretty one." - Miles Davis
WTFWGALD?
gtr is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from: --->
Old 05-30-2020, 07:11 PM   #3
Titch

Quote: