Cochinita Pibil Question

Plata-O-Plomo

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I am going to make Cochinita Pibil on Saturday. I was thinking about injecting the sauce and letting it all marinate over night. Is there any problem with injecting the citrus based sauce and letting it sit for 15-20 hours? I know citrus can start the cooking process. Just wondering

Also, I am new to this recipe. If anyone has any suggestions I would love to read them.

Thank you

So I guess....you could make the package the night before...then just cook it the next day.

Hmm...looks and sounds scrumptious!!

I have a new tortilla press...I am dying to use.

Careful using the annatto/achiote. In addition to being a spice, it's also a food coloring. Wear gloves.

Thank you for hooking me up! Awesome recipe. I hope mine comes out as good as yours even looks!

By the way, I grew up in Escondido.
Thanks.

What a small world it is sometimes. I've always loved the Gardnerville / Minden area and we have relatives that live in Reno.

Related question - If I'm unable to get banana leaves, should we just roll with the rest of the "package" wrapping (parchment paper + foil) or go in another direction?

I am just getting ready on my first attempt at this. I went to a couple Mexican grocery stores in Carson City. The first one had frozen plantain leaves which I passed on. The second had fresh banana leaves. The leaves are supposed to help flavor the overall product. Amazon has them but they look a little pricey.

Related question - If I'm unable to get banana leaves, should we just roll with the rest of the "package" wrapping (parchment paper + foil) or go in another direction?

I am just getting ready on my first attempt at this. I went to a couple Mexican grocery stores in Carson City. The first one had frozen plantain leaves which I passed on. The second had fresh banana leaves. The leaves are supposed to help flavor the overall product. Amazon has them but they look a little pricey.