Big Pig Jig First Timer

BlackDogBBQ

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Hey we are entering the Big Pig Jig down in South Georgia this November for the first time and was wondering if anyone knows the style of BBQ sauce that is preferred for this contest or any other tips for that matter would be welcomed. Being from Georgia we do what we consider a Georgia style sauce for our pulled pork which is similar to North Carolina Sauce so it is a vinegar base but we do add some ketchup, sugar, etc. to round it out some but it is still thin and definitely not the thick sweet KC style sauce that some other bbq comps seem to lean towards. For our ribs I will thicken that sauce up some with more sugar so it will stick to the ribs so to speak. Any advice will be greatly appreciate. We will be flying under the name Sky Dog BBQ at the Jig if anyone wants to stop by. Thanks a lot.

I've been judging MBN contests for over 5 years now and no matter where the contest is held the sauce is basically the same. I judged the Big Pig Jig last year and it is the same sauce as in TN or VA or NC. I was actually filmed judging Michael Character's pork shoulder - and NO, I didn't swallow my ring!

My only suggestion is to ensure that the vinegar flavor is NOT prominent. It's okay in the background, but balance is better!

GOOD LUCK!!!

Tom,

Thanks a lot for weighing in. It sounds like you have plenty of background in the matter. So you would say the sauce y'all are typically looking for is more sweet then vinagery and probably leaning towards the thick side?

Welcome to the "dark side"... MBN is a load of fun, and Big Pig Jig is that much more fun!! Ants!! Bring ant killer (granules for the ground). Also, you're below the gnat line; bring insect repellant for you, ala. grande.

+1 what Tom said. Balanced.

Tom,