Why no water pan?

Whitewookie

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
As some of you probably know, I recently go a WSM. I’ve been using it as per instructions with water in the pan, and have been satisfied so far.

For those of you who don’t like water, why not?

I know that cleanup can be a PITA, but how does no water improve the food?

Also, when you run the pan dry, do you do anything too it to protect it or improve the heat-sink properties.

Is the finished meat still moist and juicy?

Any issue with heat management?

If you do like to run water, please chime in also, pros and cons are welcome.

Any ideas or observations are appreciated. I’m just learning this long smoke game, and I surely value y’all’s opinions.

VR,
Harold

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I use Lava rocks in a foil covered pan , to help stabilize the temps. Might try water in a alum. pan next time just to see what happens.
DanB

I use a 14' terra cotta plate wrapped in foil as a heat sink. I can cook at 275° for 8-10 hours without issue.

I've never run mine with water in the pan, so I guess I can't give you the pros and cons. But here are my answers to your questions, to the best of my knowledge:

I don't want to deal with a pan full of greasy water during clean up.

I foil the pan for easy cleanup.

I like a direct-cooked flavor profile, but for large cuts I'm afraid of the grease fire potential. The empty (foiled) water pan is a good compromise. The drippings sizzle in the pan, but don't drop directly on the fire.

Yes, the meat is still moist and juicy. The air flow in a WSM is minimal compared to an offset stick burner. Avoid overcooking and stick to low and slow and you will be fine.