MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 05-30-2014, 04:06 PM   #1
carolinacue
Got rid of the matchlight.

Default Ideal Temp for Pork Ribs

I've been barbecuing at home for about 9 years now. Mainly stuck to pork shoulders, occasionally smoking a whole chicken or two.

I love ribs, and I've got a free weekend, so I figured what the heck I'll give ribs a shot. In doing some reading, I've seen some suggestions that recommend smoking baby backs for 6-7 hours, then others that suggest as little as 2 hours.

My primary smoker is a CG 5050 duo model w/ firebox, and I smoke with natural apple and cherry wood that I cut myself. After removing the membrane and applying the rub, are there any tips I should employ? Seen some suggestions about using a water/drip pan, also seen some that say to spray with apple juice every 30 minutes.

Any rib tips would be greatly appreciated.
carolinacue is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2014, 04:17 PM   #2
frog13
On the road to being a farker

As always, many ways to cook ribs. I cook at 240, baby backs are probably about five hours for me if I don't use foil during the cook. I've cooked good ribs at temps from 225-275, depends on how long you want to cook and your patience. There are a ton of posts on cooking ribs.

Thanks from:--->
Old 05-30-2014, 04:28 PM   #3
Carbon
is One Chatty Farker

I'm not picky about temps so I'll smoke them at whatever smoking temp my UDS settles in at and let it ride til done.

Old 05-30-2014, 04:39 PM   #4
Jorge