Bulk oil tote smoker?

kpbridges907

Reaction score
Hi all so I have been using my Oklahoma joes longhorn offset smoker since my I got it as a wedding gift last year. I have gotten a lot more into smoking lately mainly cause it draws out my beer drinking sessions.:wink: but the more obsessed I become with smoking and the more I learn thanks in whole to the brethren the more inadequate my smoker becomes to me, so I have been looking at repurposing about anything and everything I think might be able to get the job done without spending a fortune because up here everything costs a fortune. I work as a oil distributor and every once in a while I get rid of bulk oil totes. My biggest problem is I have had a creative block when it comes to these totes they are just so big I'm not real sure what I can do to it to make it a great smoker. Any ideas?

350 gal bulk oil/antifreeze tote 42"X42" by 48"tall with a 2 1/2" round opening on the bottom side with a removable 32" central opening on top and another 2 1/2" bung opening on top side about 6-9" away from the big 32" opening. I'll try to post a pic thank you all in advance.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    12.9 KB · Views: 123
You need a Smoker; Kit Plasma cutter & a Welder After all It's just Steel mold it. I see a 48 X 42 X 24 Offset looking at me.

Last edited:
Extend the legs, weld in some racks and a heavy offset firebox. It would be a monster for sure.

Should I cut a section out of the middle to make it more narrow? If so I could take that section and mold it into a firebox. Also if I turned it upside down I could use the valve opening as a smoke stack but will it be big enough? Also what do I do with the lid which will be on bottom unless I cut the middle out of it in which case I'll just have to weld a plate to cover up what's left. Thanks again for all your advice keep em' coming.