• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Store sold Wood for fuel and flavor question for newbies

grossepellets

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
As a newbie I have ruined food cooking with wood. I have used wood chunks and I have used wood I bought in the log form. I usually use charcoal as the base and then add wood chunks or wood logs.

I want to know if it crosses your mind that you could buy a commercial bagged product in a store - will that eliminate the bad experience?

What do you think makes for a wood that wont make food bitter? is it the price? - familiarity of the species? or how do I learn without blowing a wad on bad choices?

How do I decide what will work before I ruin another meal? I want smoke flavor - how do I know how long to apply smoke - burn the wood? ( I am talking about traditonal wood sources not the pellet type of wood)

IF Im going to spend time buying this stuff should I buy the cheapest? does the size of wood matter? How do you know how much to add?

Thanks

The bitter taste normally comes from "green" or not fully dried wood. I add two or three fist sized chunks when I cook. I'm a minion guy and I place the wood where it is just touching the lit coals. As long as you are controlling the air coming in the chunks should smolder long enough to give you a nice ring and a good smoke flavor. You don't need to keep adding wood through a cook. The smoke ring will stop developing after the outside temp reaches 140 degrees. You can keep adding smoke flavor, but you can also over do it.

I no longer buy wood in stores, but I used to all the time. I would stay away from mesquite, IMHO it is very easy to get to much flavor using it. You should be able to find chunks (not chips) at Home Depot or Lowes. They sell them in grocery stores around here as well.

As far as using your own wood, I cut and chunk mine then let it sit for about a year before I use it. Right now I have sassafras, hickory, and cherry baking away in the sunlight.