LONG: First competition in a couple weeks, lots of questions

DECENT BBQ

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Hey guys

I pulled the trigger and decided to enter the world of competition BBQ. My first competition is on the 26th in Puyallup, WA. Over the past 2 months I have been procuring equipment and practicing every weekend trying to perfect my timing and consistency. It's been a rollercoaster ride, to say the least!

While this is my first competition, I do have 10 years experience working in restaurants and doing catering events for 50-5000 people (a good majority of this was at a small chain BBQ joint in central IL in my 20s). I am fully aware these are two different animals, but this experience has proven to be very beneficial in choosing my equipment and trying to be as prepared as I can going in to this "blind".

This will be a standard KCBS rules competition, brisket, pork butt, pork ribs, and chicken. Being that this is my first time, I was considering not doing chicken, just so I don't overwhelm myself. I was wondering if this would be frowned upon, or is this something that would be considered acceptable as a greenhorn? I did a practice run on "pillow" chicken thighs this past weekend, and my results were just "okay".

For brisket I went with SRF Black Wagyu. I'll be trimming it down "Butcher BBQ" style: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fUClEdzB3k