Rattlesnake experts?

chambersuac

somebody shut me the fark up.

Batch Image
Reaction score
Ok, which of you farkers have experience grilling rattlesnakes "on the bone" i.e. not filets? TIA

I saw this post and thought Rattlesnake, the liquor shot. Yes I'm an expert with those but I cant help you with the snake. Sorry. :-D

Here's a link to the last one I cooked.
https://cowgirlscountry.blogspot.com/2018/05/rattlesnake-on-grill.html

Did blackened rattler with scallions, bacon wrapped jalapeno stuffed rattler, chickenfried rattler and a caper, lemon butter sauced rattler.

They were all tasty but the caper, lemon butter sauced was my favorite.

Good luck with it Dan and don't forget to tan the hide. :grin:

WXbk1JP.jpg

Thanks, Jeanie! I found our blog post on it. I actually was asking for a friend, but figured if I said, "asking for a friend" in the OP, nobody would believe me. :)

My friend is doing a special dinner night where he is cooking his way through the book of Genesis. His first dish involves lettuce wrap, snake, and a fig/pomegranate glaze.

Here's a link to the last one I cooked.
https://cowgirlscountry.blogspot.com/2018/05/rattlesnake-on-grill.html

Did blackened rattler with scallions, bacon wrapped jalapeno stuffed rattler, chickenfried rattler and a caper, lemon butter sauced rattler.

They were all tasty but the caper, lemon butter sauced was my favorite.

Good luck with it Dan and don't forget to tan the hide. :grin:

WXbk1JP.jpg

Looks like a big snake, Jeanie. How long was it?

It wasn't huge, about 48". I left a bit of meat behind while removing the head with my pocket knife. It was just the only way I could separate the body from the head at the time. I suppose the snake would have been 54 or so inches. Still not huge.

Forgot to add.
I'll probably end up making a belt with it.

Thanks, Jeanie! I found our blog post on it. I actually was asking for a friend, but figured if I said, "asking for a friend" in the OP, nobody would believe me. :)