MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 04-16-2011, 07:06 AM   #1
AndreasMergner
Found some matches.

Default Homemade Kamado / brick oven??

Ok, I am a newbie to this forum and to BBQ. My friend, TedW, told me all the wonderful things he is cooking on his BGE. I looked into it, and then was contemplating buying one or a BSK.

Being a handy guy and frugal ("I can make that!"), I start thinking why couldn't I make a Kamado style grill out of brick? It would be like a wood fired brick oven, but instead of a fire brick floor with the fire being on it, I'd lower the floor to make a fire box and use a grill/grate. For pizza or indirect cooking, I could use a pizza stone. Then use a door, have an air intake on the firebox and a controlled chimney. Am I crazy? I'm sure it's been done, right?

I appreciate any help or leading me in the right direction....and don't scold me too much if I really don't know what I'm talking about. Thanks!

Last edited by AndreasMergner; 04-16-2011 at 09:32 AM..
AndreasMergner is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-2011, 08:51 AM   #2
cba252
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Why not something like this?
http://www.ibiblio.org/lineback/bbq/wdh.htm
cba252 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #3
AndreasMergner
Found some matches.

Oops, sorry about mispelling kamado!