The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Food Handling General Discussion (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Need new freezer - Manual or Auto defrost? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=214080)

brimclau 07-13-2015 11:22 AM

Need new freezer - Manual or Auto defrost?

Hi All,

Did a quick search and could not find a thread on this so apologies if this has already been discussed.

I've read that the auto-defrost function actually takes the freezer internal temp from < 0* to almost 32 several times per day to prevent ice crystal build up on shelves and walls of freezer. While not having to manually defrost once or twice a year this does not sound like the best way to keep meat.

Am I better off with a manual defrost freezer? (BTW, looking at upright models due to footprint requirements)

thanks!

Porcine Perfection 07-18-2015 05:07 PM

I am far from an expert but am over 50. :-P I don't think anything gets hurt in the short amount of time that the defrost cycle occurs.

NBBD 07-18-2015 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brimclau (Post 3299827)
Hi All,

freezer internal temp from < 0* to almost 32 several times per day to prevent ice crystal build up on shelves and walls of freezer.

Also not an expert on the subject... but that's what happens in the freezers and coolers of vendors everyday ... auto defrost for about an hour twice per day.

acguy 07-19-2015 01:12 PM

I am an expert. The temperature of a freezer can reach above 30 during defrost. It's all about how much defrost time is needed. However, that doesn't mean the product will reach that temp. Your product should stay at or below the setting. So, when the freezer comes out of defrost, it will return to the setpoint temp very quickly.