mUDS - First build and first time running charcoal

ImThaBean

Found some matches.
Reaction score
I'm a total Noob. So new, I never, successfully used a charcoal grill.
I've run wood and propane grills. Even then, didn't do much grilling outside of carne asada and corn. I'm a walking stereotype, I know.

Anyway. Back to the story/build.
How it started.
I bought a Tucker Barbecue DrumGrill from FB marketplace (Maker the Big Green Egg).

Guy won it at a golf tourney and didn't need/want it. They retail for $250AUS ($167US), got it for $30. Even came with a BBQ toolset.
This is a standard 30 gal unlined steel drum with a charcoal basket and grate that hang off 3 arms that grip around the rim of the drum.
6YufAPi.jpg

I'm not modifying that set up. Will keep it if I want to actually use it to grill on the drum.

I went with standard/basic hardware. Kept it as simple as possible to learn and practice. I'll add/mod it as I go. I took a lot of info from standard UDS builds and scaled down to what I believe will work for the 30gal.

]Basic breakdown:
30 gal unlined drum w/ lid and snap seal band
6x 3/4" exhaust ports on 90's
3x 3/4" intake ports, 1 with valve (Will add riser because too much bending)
1 Analog temp gauge (worthless)
Tenergy Solis 2 probe Bluetooth thermometer (will buy more probes if needed)
6" gate handle for lid
13.5" charcoal grate from the 18" Weber grill
16qt SS stock pot for charcoal basket along with the weber grate
Generic off the shelf chimney
Small furniture dolly from HF that was laying around. I was going to harvest the wheels but decided to just keep it together and set the drum on the dolly.
18# bag of Royal Oak brix and hickory wood chunks.

VvxvDcB.jpg

Here she starts. Guess Lenox tools or a tool supplier was the sponsor for the prize. Lenox makes some good saw blades. Also, generic charcoal chimney, because I don't know any better and it was the cheapest.