The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Wood: Bark on or bark off? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13266)

sodbuster 08-31-2005 03:13 AM

Wood: Bark on or bark off?

I'm just getting started with Q and have a excellent supply of wood. So far I'm removing the bark, but it's a real pain. What are the rest of you doing? So far I've used Hickory and Apple, but have some Peach and all sorts of Oak layin around.

JamesB 08-31-2005 05:13 AM

If the bark falls off, I don't try to put it back on... If I can't pull it off very easily with my hands, it stays on...

James.

chad 08-31-2005 06:02 AM

Fruit wood I wouldn't worry about it. If the oak bark is loose knock it off otherwise don't bother - the hickory...I'd try to take some of the bark off - hickeory can go WAY over the top and get bitter and the bark could exacerbate the bitterness!! :D

Just my opinion.

Arlin_MacRae 08-31-2005 06:10 AM

I mostly use hickory, pecan, and mesquite and I've never made an effort to remove bark.
Never suffered from bitterness.

Jeff_in_KC 08-31-2005 06:42 AM

If it is readily removeable, I take it off. I try to use chunks and splits with the least bark in the bag first or at least try to mix in so not all wood I'm using has bark.

nucleargeek 08-31-2005 07:38 AM

Wood comes with bark on it...so I leave it on. Never had a problem.

VitaminQ 08-31-2005 07:52 AM

I use pecan almost exclusively, and I've never purposely de-barked. If it falls off, I discard it. I've noticed no ill effects, but different woods may have different properties, as several have pointed out.

Jeff_in_KC 08-31-2005 08:15 AM

Vitamin, to what address can I forward to you the half bag of pecan splits I have? :lol: I used it once on chicken when the store was out of apple wood and I didn't care for it much at all...