PDA

View Full Version : Smoke control

jhnarial
11-20-2010, 09:42 PM
I am new to smoking but not to toot my own horn, I have been having some really good results. I still have a lot to learn but I have found my own taste and I am pleased with it. I also have become familiar with my smoker and can run it at 250dg all day if need be.

All that being said my BBQ still sucked until I understood, I did not want a thick white smoke barreling out the stack. A nice thin blue haze smoke is the ticket.

That made all the difference in the world. No more bitter taste just sweet BBQ.

Midnight Smoke
11-20-2010, 09:49 PM
Congrats on trying and learning. Sounds like you are on your way to some great cooks!

bigabyte
11-20-2010, 09:54 PM
You just learned the secret to great tasting BBQ. The rest is just seasoning and other special techniques to make a good product better. Congrats!:cool:

jhnarial
11-20-2010, 10:01 PM
OK now I have to ask

I did some butts, light blue haze smoke with cherry chunks. Smoke ring dug in 1/2'' to 3/4'' and was fantastic. Bone fell out:clap2:

Next smoke I used split logs and could not control my smoke very well. Heavy white smoke through out the cook. Smoke ring dug in a 1/8'' at best. Hard to pull out the bone:crazy:. Meat was bitter and being my biggest critic I would say that it pretty much su--ed:icon_blush:.

Went back to the chunks same procedure controlled the smoke very well and it turned out fantastic and my guest did not speak a word while they were eating it but I seen there pleasure.

I might be tooting my horn but I went through a lot of bad cooks before i read and learned this ah ha moment.:thumb:

Smoke On

Jay Bird
11-20-2010, 10:01 PM
You done good. All praise the blue smoke.

chillcoolcold
11-20-2010, 10:12 PM
Yes sir!! light smoke Not Yellow Not Black I had to clean my whole smoker the first few times. Not now. I keep the fire box hot I pre-heat the charcoal and I put (1) wood chunk in at a time about 1" away from the coals.