PDA

View Full Version : foiling question

sunrise
11-06-2010, 06:47 AM
When wraping the ribs in foil, do you foil first, or after smoking a while? I have been wraping my ribs in foil for the first hour, then unwraping and finishing for about 2 hours more. I have been finishing mid pack, and need to move up. Thanks

Smokin' Gnome BBQ
11-06-2010, 07:32 AM
When wraping the ribs in foil, do you foil first, or after smoking a while? I have been wraping my ribs in foil for the first hour, then unwraping and finishing for about 2 hours more. I have been finishing mid pack, and need to move up. Thanks

there is a lot of good info in this site. what I do is a 3-2-1 at 225

3 hours live smoke
2 hours foil
1 hour to finish and glaze.

Im no expert, and must say I posted a rib help thread and everyone has been very helpfull. Some really good tips.

tmcmaster
11-06-2010, 09:29 AM
I don't foil until they are just about done, and toss them in the cambro for about 2 hours.

BBQ Grail
11-06-2010, 09:41 AM
I don't foil at all...

But if I did I wouldn't start out with foil.

boogiesnap
11-06-2010, 10:40 AM
do not foil at the start. ever. for anything.

Jorge
11-06-2010, 12:06 PM
I'll foil after they have good color, and add some additional ingredients for flavor, unwrap after they are starting to get the feel I want, and set a sauce and/or glaze.

tmcmaster
11-06-2010, 03:07 PM
So, boiling first is out of vogue?:crazy:

CBQ
11-06-2010, 05:17 PM

Yeah, you are doing it backwards. Once the surface of the meat gets to around 160 it doesn't take smoke any more. That's the reason behind the 3-2-1 other people mentioned. You want to expose it to the smoke first with no foil, then foil later with some good stuff in the foil (rub, sugar, etc.).

CBQ
11-06-2010, 05:39 PM

Not at all. It's Kevin Roberts recommended.

barbefunkoramaque
11-06-2010, 05:47 PM
Foil???? Simpsons already did this before Southpark. (http://www.youtube.com/user/PopdaddysBBQ#p/u/4/GbBFZstQRUY)

landarc