PDA

View Full Version : Thermocouple?


caliking
08-05-2010, 02:35 AM
:confused: So... I need some info about these doohickeys, and I figured what better place to go than the home of the Brethren!

Have a new project underway (will post the pron when I'm done), and was curious about a thermocouple. I need a high temp thermocouple probe.

Now for the questions:

1.Is there a way to install a k-type thermocouple so that one probe constantly monitors the temp of the cooking chamber?

2. Any suggestions for brands? Have sen proces from $10 (ebay)- $80 (amazon).

3. Can the probe be left in place? Will the probe wire/covering melt in the heat ( I'm talking HIGH heat).

Thanks! :-D

Norcoredneck
08-05-2010, 02:36 AM
Best to get "type K"
Most type K will go to atleast 1200 degrees. Depending on what type of jacketing the wires have. Let me see if I can find the ones I got from E-bay.

I installed mine that were 1/4" diameter using swedgelok fittings. Less expensive compression fittings will work also.
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2731.jpg

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2730.jpg

Norcoredneck
08-05-2010, 04:09 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com/Type-K-Thermocouple-4-Sensor-Temperature-Controller-/110567069322?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19be4f968a

http://cgi.ebay.com/Type-K-Thermocouple-Sensor-High-Temperature-Controller-/110567074578?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19be4fab12

Billy Ribs
08-05-2010, 07:10 AM
norcoredneck, you sparked my curiosity with the heat gun in your photo. I'm Farly new to smoking, new to the site, and I will be doing my first mod on my OK Joe tomorrow (baffle and tuning plates).

Is it part of your rig, or was it just being used at the time of the photo?

Norcoredneck
08-05-2010, 07:47 AM
It was a heat gun that the heating element burned out. I used it as a blower fan for my "Redneck Guru".
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2611.jpg

caliking
08-05-2010, 12:27 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/Type-K-Thermocouple-4-Sensor-Temperature-Controller-/110567069322?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19be4f968a

http://cgi.ebay.com/Type-K-Thermocouple-Sensor-High-Temperature-Controller-/110567074578?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19be4fab12
Thanks, Norco. Do you know if the "armored wire" itself will withstand the max temp, or is it just the 4" probe that can tolerate that range?

BTW, love the "redneck" Guru! Awesome. Did you ever post the details in a thread? If you didn't, you have my permission to hijack this thread to tell us more.

Learnin Querve
08-05-2010, 06:40 PM
Have you checked here? These are the same folks that make Thermapens. They may cost more than you're planning to spend, but there's a lot of info on their pages.

Good luck,

Chris

http://www.thermoworks.com/products/probe/index.html

Norcoredneck
08-05-2010, 07:51 PM
Thanks, Norco. Do you know if the "armored wire" itself will withstand the max temp, or is it just the 4" probe that can tolerate that range?

BTW, love the "redneck" Guru! Awesome. Did you ever post the details in a thread? If you didn't, you have my permission to hijack this thread to tell us more.

Not sure if it will take 1200 degrees. You keep saying hot but that is very cryptic. How about more splainin?

the Redneck guru is a Pid controller I salvaged from a solder pot. it controlled the heat gun/fan through a relay. Worked good.

caliking
08-08-2010, 10:36 PM
Not sure if it will take 1200 degrees. You keep saying hot but that is very cryptic. How about more splainin?

the Redneck guru is a Pid controller I salvaged from a solder pot. it controlled the heat gun/fan through a relay. Worked good.

I promise I'll explain(and post the pron) when the project is done. I was looking for a thermocouple setup that could tolerate ~1000+*F. I'll call the Thermoworks folks and try to get more info.

Thanks!