PDA

View Full Version : My 30th B'Day Bash

lwlobo
06-09-2010, 07:42 PM
Hey Everyone,

I'm getting ready to celebrate my 30th Birthday next week. For my party, I'm going to be doing what I love, which is BBQ'ing a lot of meat, and I could use some expert advice.

Appetizer will be MOINK balls. Probalby use Kirkland meatballs.

The Menu is:

Pulled Pork
Brisket
BBQ Chicken
Tri-Tip

I'm trying to bring some of the elements of Southern (not a specific region, yet), Texas, and California BBQ styles. I'm intending the brisket to be my Texas representative, with pork and BBQ chicken respecting southern tradition, and the Tri-Tip for our native CA heritage.

I have some experience with Pork and Brisket, but not a lot. I could use some advice for that. I'm pretty confident on Chicken (but could use some advice for which cut might work best, and rub), and I think I've got the Santa Maria Tri-Tip pretty well figured out.

For equipment, i've got the two UDS's that my co-worker and I built a while back, a weber kettle, electric brinkman, gas grill, etc.

I'm looking for input on favorite rubs/marinates, smoke woods (have Apple and Hickory already), BBQ sauces, rolls, side dishes, and timing. The party is at 6 pm next Thursday, and I will have the day off to get everything done. When should I get things started? When to pull the pork and slice the brisket? I'll plan to finish the Tri-Tip and Chicken not too long before the party.

I'm willing to make or buy rubs or sauces locally or online. Cost is a factor, but so is time required.

I want to share my passion for BBQ with my friends and family. I've looked all over the web for recipes and tips, but I thought I'd check with all the experts here. Sorry for writing a book, and thanks for your suggestions!

landarc
06-09-2010, 08:29 PM