PDA

View Full Version : First BB's a let down...

TonyBen
05-24-2010, 09:01 PM
I followed all the instructions I found on making good BB's (I think). It was a large rack of BB's though and I bought them at Wal-Mart for about $15.

I used the 2-1-1 method. I had my daughter pull the membrane and trim the fat (I had a hand surgery the day before). I had her rub the ribs down with PGW pork rub but I may have overdone it.

I set the Traeger on 185 and the indicated temp on the probe and the lid ranged from 220 to 248 and held there for the whole four hours. I slathered the rack with BBQ sauce for the last hour. I picked up the rack and looked for separation and there was a little, so I called it good. I guess being a novice, I didn't recognize that it wasnt' good enough.

My wife didn't really like the overpowering spices and the meat did not pull cleanly off the bone. It had to be gnawed off. They looked beautiful, though. The smoke ring was very nice but the meat was just not cooked enough. Maybe I need to go a little longer or a little hotter next time.

My wife is seeking the BBQ sauce rich flavor. What should I use to season the ribs next time to not be overpowering instead of the pork rub?

On a good note, the corn-on-the-cob was awesome! She really liked it!

landarc
05-24-2010, 09:08 PM
You got close, as always it isn't a science. I think you needed to cook them a little longer. Four hour is not unusual for BB's, but, they are take longer depending on the actual hunk o meat you ended up with. I prefer not to go to crazy with rubs at first, I know what I like, but, I find when cooking for other, it is easy to get rambunctious for some folks taste. Better to ease em up on it. I also like to make sure my rub and sauce match, simpler rub/stronger sauce essentially.

MAB52
05-24-2010, 09:34 PM
Hi TonyBen,