PDA

View Full Version : Heat and Concrete

Sub
03-11-2010, 05:31 PM
Funny story I thought I would share with yall, or at least make you laugh at my great thinking strategy.

Let me start off my saying i'm fairly new to the smoking world, picked it up for a couple months now (this is my defense). I was about to start up my chimney when I had this thought that I didn't want to start the chimney on the actual smoker because I didn't want the paper ash floating around the inside of the smoker as the food was cooking so I figured I would put it on my back patio while the coals warmed up.

I lit the paper under the chimney and set it on my patio, went inside and started rubbing the ribs down, I get done with my first set and and slap down the 2nd slab and then I hear this POP! noise and the first thing that comes to mind is that the chimney blew up somehow; so I run outside and see hot coals ALL OVER my patio, the grass is on fire and the chimney is on it's side...

Immediately I go for the hose and realize I still had the Spigot Covers on for the winter and the hose is just loosely hanging there, I rip that cover off and do my best to attach the damn hose and turn it on. With as fast as my ass could go I put out this fire in my backyard and sit back and listen to the sizzling of the coals as it burns my dry grass.

I try to look at the chimney and it's all bent to **** and I see pieces of concrete all over the place, I now see that the heat had caused the concrete directly underneath the chimney to pop up, causing my chimney to be a rocket showering my yard with coals.

Here was the end result (after I swept up):

http://imgur.com/l8BYG.jpg

http://imgur.com/pD5oU.jpg

So my wife comes home later and I had it cleaned up and she went outside and I didn't say anything and just kept talking to her like there wasn't this divet at her our feet and she yells "what the hell happened!" and I told her "oh that was already there". :twisted: Her look was priceless

lol good times