PDA

View Full Version : Average Yield for Pulled Pork ???

Dale in GA
01-05-2010, 09:12 AM
I'm new to BBQ-Brethren forum but have really been impressed by information shared so far. I would sure appreciate some input or rules of thumb for yields on pork shoulder (butt and/or picnic ham).

I have done a few KCBS comps and have years of smoking at home...but I never really weighed before and after. Off the top of my head, I am guessing a yield of about 65%. Does this seem reasonable?

My wife and I are planning for my son's wedding rehearsal dinner. My plan is to smoke butts or picnics at about 225 low and slow with combo of lump and pecan (~10 hours depending on target temp of 195). Will likely crutch and store in warmer until ready to pull and serve. Just need to figure out how many pounds to start with.

Dale

musicmanryann
01-05-2010, 09:26 AM
65% is perfect.

Stoke&Smoke
01-05-2010, 09:28 AM
I'd figure on closer to 50-60%

Diver
01-05-2010, 09:40 AM
I always figure 65% yield, 1/3 lb per person, my butts avg 8-9 lbs so approx 15 people per butt. If I chop instead of pull, I get a slightly higher yield but stick with this formula to be safe.

DC-Q
01-05-2010, 09:55 AM
Interesting question. I'm no pro, but 65% sounds close.