PDA

View Full Version : Dry Rub for Ribs

AUGreenEgg
10-16-2009, 11:14 AM
I am smoking some ribs this weekend and have never done this before (all by myself that is).
I want to make a dry rub rib. I have been reading on blogs and other recipes that friends have given me. But wanted to ask the Brethren.

Is it necessary to have the "moister" stage of some sort of apple juice or apple cider mix under the ribs when smoking dry ribs?
I have seen both and wanted some people opinions.

Thanks in advance!

War Damn Eagle!!

cdollar
10-16-2009, 12:56 PM
I just put the rub on the night before and the ribs are moist when I put them on. I think it just depends on what you like. Some I sauce, some I don't. It will take you a bunch of slabs to finally decide just how you like them. I've been making ribs for over 45 years and I'm still tweaking my method and recipes.

Most important, don't push them.

Chuck

landarc
10-16-2009, 12:59 PM
I take the rub straight to the ribs. I wash them, dry them with a cotton towel, then coat them with rub and let them sit for 1/2 hour while the coals heat up. No slather or liquid necessary, although it is a valid choice.

Porky
10-16-2009, 01:00 PM
Some folks use cheap yellow mustard or worcestershire sauce as the glue to hold on the rub. Others go bareback and just sprinkle with there favorite rub. There is no right or wrong in BBQ, just the way you want to do it. It's all good.

DeoreDX
10-16-2009, 01:06 PM
I take the rub straight to the ribs. I wash them, dry them with a cotton towel, then coat them with rub and let them sit for 1/2 hour while the coals heat up. No slather or liquid necessary, although it is a valid choice.

+1. That's what I do.

JD McGee
10-16-2009, 01:17 PM
I do a light mustard slather and good coat of rub 4 hours before smoking...:-P Good luck! :biggrin:

hogwild284
10-16-2009, 01:29 PM
I like to rub and let them sit overnight. Some get slathered and some don't. Try them all ways til you find what you like.