PDA

View Full Version : UDS thermometer question


ComputerMike
09-06-2008, 07:26 PM
If you install a thermometer below the lower grate how do you get the charcoal basket out to empy the ash? Remove the thermometer or install ine with a short stem?

Just curious. I have a line on some 5" face industrial thermometers (new)with a 12" stem for $10 (new $125), 1" threaded collar. Down side is they are in Celsius and despite being Canadian I still cook in Farhenheit. For a deal like that I can learn celsius but if I have to remove the thermometer to empty the ash it might be more hassle than its worth.

Dr_KY
09-06-2008, 07:32 PM
Cut the bottom out of your drum.

Norcoredneck
09-06-2008, 07:51 PM
If you install a thermometer below the lower grate how do you get the charcoal basket out to empy the ash? Remove the thermometer or install ine with a short stem?

Just curious. I have a line on some 5" face industrial thermometers (new)with a 12" stem for $10 (new $125), 1" threaded collar. Down side is they are in Celsius and despite being Canadian I still cook in Farhenheit. For a deal like that I can learn celsius but if I have to remove the thermometer to empty the ash it might be more hassle than its worth.
Most use 4" stem. You could make a hole ad pit a conduit bushing in from inside and a 1" coupler on outside and thread in and oyt hand tight.

Or blow off the threads and use a compression or "Swedgelok" ($$$) fitting
like i do on my Redneck guru probes that are 10-12" long. i slide them out when I take out basket and hand tighten when in use.
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2733.jpg

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2731.jpg

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k296/norcoredneck/IMG_2730.jpg

thirdeye
09-06-2008, 09:16 PM
I just tip the basket a hair and slip it by the probe. It acrually slips through one of the partial diamonds around the edge of the expando. I made two T handle rods with a hook on the other end for the lifting and lowering. (I have bolts for a lower rack in mine so I do the same to dodge them too).

Kenny 13
09-07-2008, 12:08 AM
I just use my ET-73 on my UDS rather than mounting something permanent. If the thermometer is extremely accurate it may be worth the hassle of removing it, but Dr KY makes a good point - you can always cut out the bottom for access to your charcoal basket.