PDA

View Full Version : UDS question

hdis2002
04-14-2008, 02:17 PM
I'm relatively new to the Q scene(less than a year). I currently use a cookshack 08 and love it. However, I would like to expand my horizons a little bit. I'm considering a UDS from Big Drum Smokers, the model 2336. I don't have the resources to build my own and this looks like it's a pretty well built unit. I'm looking for suggestions from the pros. Space is a little bit of an issue so anything bigger really wouldn't fit in the area I have. Thanks.

Here's the link

http://bigdrumsmokers.com/smokers.htm

Steve

Bigmista
04-14-2008, 02:34 PM
Big Drum Smokers makes the BDS and that's where the inspiration for the UDS came from. I've seen them and Rocky makes a fine product but I think you could manage to make one yourself. I would put out a call asking for brethren help in your area. One or more brethren might show up to help you build one.

Tip: If you offer to buy them beer for helping, you might as well buy the BDS. They come out about even. :lol:

capri man
04-14-2008, 03:24 PM
dang steve, i was just up your way last weekend!! heck we could have put you one together in a little while. that bds guy is kinda proud of his huh!!! there is more info on here than you could ever use on building one. if i can do it, anyone can. i got less than $50 in mine!!

STX Cue
04-14-2008, 03:33 PM
I built one this weekend in about 2 1/2 or 3 hours using nothing more than a drill, a screwdriver, and a pair of pliers. I have about $75 in mine, but I went overboard on a couple of things. I would seriously consider building your own. Check out the UDS threads if you haven't.

Divemaster
04-14-2008, 04:29 PM
Big Drum Smokers makes the BDS and that's where the inspiration for the UDS came from. I've seen them and Rocky makes a fine product but I think you could manage to make one yourself. I would put out a call asking for brethren help in your area. One or more brethren might show up to help you build one.