PDA

View Full Version : Remote thermometers


jonboy
03-27-2008, 12:26 PM
I have 2 thermometers. A weber style32908 and a maverick et71co.
My smoker is a short distance from the kitchen window. I have a problem with both thermometers.
The weber can handle the distance but has preprogrammed temp settings. It cannot be changed for different temp settings.
Is there a better weber?
The maverick(costco) will not trasmit a signal the distance. It does have the ability to shange the settings. Is there a way to increase the distance that it will send?
Is there a better maverick?
I am not familiar with the bbq quru or stoker units?
Would something like that be better for me?
Thanks for the help,
jonboy

Kenny 13
03-27-2008, 12:36 PM
I have the Meverick ET-73 which has 2 probes - one for the cooking temp & one for the meat temp. I've had it for about a year & I'm very happy with it.

K I N G P I N
03-27-2008, 12:58 PM
I have heard the Digiq II being used on BGE's.
Can I use it on my GOSM??
What are the benefits??
Any help would be appreciated.

(didn't want to start another thread mod)

jonboy
03-27-2008, 01:36 PM
My smoker is over 100 foot from the house (Pronounced" Country"). There is a metal pole barn between. I am going to do a search for a better weber/scientific model.
One that is programable. Or a maverick with better range.
AnyOne have a similar problem/solution??

The digiq2 looks like a nice product. Im not sure that it is what i need with fans, blowers,etc. But it would be interesting to learn about it also.
jonboy

Kenny 13
03-27-2008, 01:48 PM
Yeah, I think that distance is going to be your problem. I've heard of some having trouble with the ET-73 at the longer distances that are still within range.

I'm in an apartment with a small backyard (approximately 15' x 20') so even if I took my remote out my front door I'm still well within 100'. If you're looking at over 100' I don't know if you're gonna find anything. Good luck there.

jonboy
03-27-2008, 03:16 PM
I have been looking at a oregon scientific aw131. IT looks like theweber unit.
My weber aw129 is rated for 100 ft.
The aw131 is rated for 330 ft and has a manual temp set mode.
I think that i will give it a try.
Im not sure if they are available locally, but newegg has them.
Has anyone used this unit?
It is a talking unit with 5 languages.
Around 40.00
The only problem i see with it is its red.

Mo-Dave
03-27-2008, 05:56 PM
I don't recall what website I read this on but a lot of Mavericks have trouble with any distance. It seem the antenna is ether to short or missing altogether. You can take the back off and you should be able to see the antenna coil. According to the website you can stretch the line out, you may even have to add on to it and it should increase the distance a good bit. I seem to remember it said the line should be about 7 or 8 inches and you can just put the back back on with the line hanging out.

I have not had a problem with my E3 except when I first got it I used to keep it in a plastic box with a lid so it would not get rained on or to much hot sun. Also had it laying down and the directions say not to cover it and make sure it is upright for it to work properly.
Dave

Bigdog
03-27-2008, 06:06 PM
The NUtemp is the choice of the Brethren.
http://www.nu-temp.com/701.htm

K I N G P I N
03-27-2008, 06:09 PM
The NUtemp is the choice of the Brethren.
http://www.nu-temp.com/701.htm

Is it reliable and rugged????

thenewguy
03-27-2008, 06:41 PM
I'm happy with my mav. 73. I like having 2 different readouts-1 for the pit and 1 for meat.
The nu-temp would be nice to piggyback more units on but I think there's enough wires already. Who am I kiddin' I'll probably have another by may.

jonboy
03-27-2008, 06:49 PM
What kind of range are you getting with the new temp?
I have taken the maverick apart. And have adjusted the
spring antenna. I am testing now to see if it makes a difference.
I dont like the spring hanging out. I will get it caught on something and break it. I wonder if you could attach an antenna like on a transister radio.
I cant really leave it inside because of the way it works. You have to turn both units on within a few seconds or they dont work.
The weber is different in this also. You can turn on the inside unit much later and it will find the signal.
jonboy

Mo-Dave
03-27-2008, 06:53 PM
I know this may be a silly question but have you changed batters lately? I now when mine get low it really farks with them.
Dave

Bigdog
03-27-2008, 06:56 PM
Is it reliable and rugged????

Yupper.

pne123
03-27-2008, 06:57 PM
I picked up one at walmart for $16. It is better than the mavrick that broke. range is great. It looks like a beeper. can check the brand later. It passed the drop test. i was pruning trees while smoking. kept forgetting to take off the belt before climbing back up the ladder. Dropped 3x from about 15-20' and kept workign great. smoker on far side of the house, at least 100' away. just not sure if i could run two at the same time.

Bigdog
03-27-2008, 07:03 PM
What kind of range are you getting with the new temp?


Up to 100 ft.

jonboy
03-27-2008, 07:04 PM
pne123,
Are you talking about the new temp?
I havent seen any at the local walmart.
What do they look like?jonboy

Lowbrass
03-27-2008, 09:06 PM
Anyone know if the new temp probes will work with the et-73? I need some new probes but don't want to pay the obnoxious amounts maverick wants for them.

Jeremiah
03-27-2008, 09:34 PM
I used the Maverick until I picked up a Nu Temp with 3 remotes. Much better range, I like them. One of the probes just died on me (170 in boiling water), but I guess that's expected over time. I haven't had a probe (yet) that didn't eventually need replacing.

K I N G P I N
03-27-2008, 09:52 PM
One of the probes just died on me (170 in boiling water), but I guess that's expected over time. I haven't had a probe (yet) that didn't eventually need replacing.


WHY??:confused:

chinesebob
03-28-2008, 03:23 AM
I picked up the oregon scientific http://www.oregonscientificstore.com/oregon_scientific/product.asp?itmky=226818&model=AW129&cat=5&subcat=&sortby=&filtermfg=&page=

My only problem with them is I can't seem to get two to play together at the same time. It's pouring down rain and I put a big bowl over it to keep it from the rain, still transmitts just fine. Just whenever I have two kinda sucks.

jonboy
03-28-2008, 07:30 AM
Chinesebob,
That is the same unit that i have except its labeled weber.
Is there a way to override the temp settings?
I would like to set it for 195 or 200 and not hear it beep from 180 and up
jonboy

The Pickled Pig
03-28-2008, 11:09 AM
It's pouring down rain and I put a big bowl over it to keep it from the rain, still transmitts just fine.

ZipLoc bags are your friend for keeping digital thermometers dry. They don't melt at most dome temps, the magnets still work through the plastic, and you can easily read the display without removing it from the bag.

pne123
03-28-2008, 02:17 PM
pne123,
Are you talking about the new temp?
I havent seen any at the local walmart.
What do they look like?jonboy

This the one i was talking about. great range and tough

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=8587360

Mark
03-28-2008, 06:21 PM
This the one i was talking about. great range and tough

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=8587360

Price seems good but the specs don't explain much

The Pigman
03-28-2008, 06:35 PM
I second that


I second thatI have the Meverick ET-73 which has 2 probes - one for the cooking temp & one for the meat temp. I've had it for about a year & I'm very happy with it.

chinesebob
03-28-2008, 06:45 PM
This the one i was talking about. great range and tough

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=8587360

I had that unit and it was junk after about 12 uses. It has the features but it didn't work after a while at all. Got it on woot.com for 9.99

swamprb
03-28-2008, 07:02 PM
Chinesebob,
That is the same unit that i have except its labeled weber.
Is there a way to override the temp settings?
I would like to set it for 195 or 200 and not hear it beep from 180 and up
jonboy

I have the same one except its the Nexx-Tech. You can't override it and 180* is the max. I use it as a warning buzzer!

I also picked up one of the Red talking ones for $9.99 at bLowes before Christmas. I figured the probe is worth that much! Or a White Elephant Christmas gift!
http://www2.oregonscientific.com/shop/product.asp?cid=2&scid=5&pid=763

pne123
03-28-2008, 07:42 PM
I can over ride mine... just hit the +

Jeremiah
03-29-2008, 12:09 AM
WHY??:confused:

Are you implying that I must be doing something wrong or just showing frustration that companies can't put out a decent product? If it's the former, I have no idea why they keep breaking. They tend to do fine for about a year and then they just give out. I cook a lot.

jestridge
03-29-2008, 12:17 AM
I picked up the oregon scientific http://www.oregonscientificstore.com/oregon_scientific/product.asp?itmky=226818&model=AW129&cat=5&subcat=&sortby=&filtermfg=&page=

My only problem with them is I can't seem to get two to play together at the same time. It's pouring down rain and I put a big bowl over it to keep it from the rain, still transmitts just fine. Just whenever I have two kinda sucks. Bob did you reset them the sender and reciever have a rest button you need to press the butttons with a paper clip or a pin within a few second of each up. this will enable you to use both of them. the reset button is under the battery cover kinda hard to find.

chinesebob
03-29-2008, 02:14 AM
didn't know that. Will do that tonight for the cook.