PDA

View Full Version : 22" SNS Deluxe Kettle vs 26" Weber with SNS XL?

Jim_MI
03-20-2021, 08:56 PM
Total newbie to charcoal grilling, with limited gas experience.

I am going to get a charcoal kettle grill of some sort next month. From reading this forum, I am amazed at what you guys can do on a good kettle grill, especially with an indirect heat setup. So I have narrowed my search to the 26" Weber with a SNS XL insert or a 22" SNS Deluxe setup.

Thus far, most of my grilling has been for just 2-4 people with only the occasional larger crowd, and all pretty simple stuff like steaks, burgers, brats & fish. So most of the time a 22" would be fine. But I do smoke salmon and lake trout (currently using a vertical cabinet smoker) and would consider doing batches on the kettle. Also, I like to do cedar planked trout and whitefish on the grill but discovered that I cannot fit more than 2 planks in a 22". The 26" looks like more than I will need most (but not all) of the time. I am also leery of the MANY stories of poor quality on the Chinese manufactured Weber.

All that taken into consideration, will I regret going for the smaller but better quality SNS kettle?

Sent from my SM-G970U1 using Tapatalk

PnkPanther
03-20-2021, 08:59 PM
No experience with SNS, but I considered both last year, got the Weber 26, no regrets

The extra size imo Trump's benefits of SNS

WilliamKY
03-20-2021, 09:03 PM
I could be wrong but I believe the Weber 26 is made in USA. I know mine was but I've had it for 9yrs so maybe Weber has since outsourced. The 22 has more gadgets but in the end the 26 is superior. As long as Weber makes a 26 I will never own another 22.

Dweverett
03-20-2021, 09:18 PM