PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade from WSM to LSG? or Klose? or Mgrills?

Rolleigod
06-03-2020, 04:28 PM
Hi Folks,
This is my first post. Hope you can help me. I'm having decisions issue. I currently own an 18” WSM, an 18" kettle, a 22" kettle and a gasser. I’ve been grilling for 10 years, and smoking on the WSM for about 4 years. I’m decent but still learning. I cook for 8 people (6 kids). I do a few parties every year and cook for my work occasionally (30-40 people max. I’m ready to upgrade to something bigger but I’m not a caterer and don’t want to waste money on fuel or go too big. The main use will be grilling for my family and occasionally smoking (I’m still going to use my WSM as I have modified to suit me perfect), unless my wife make me sell it.

My current challenges are that I don’t have enough surface area. Also, my dad says he wants me to cook a suckling pig for him for a very special event. Here are things I’ve been considering:

Klose Chef Grill 20x42 with Fire box. Pros: Fire Box, adjustable grill distance, small pig possible. Cons: Too big? Wide variance of heat from left to right according to older posts? Too heavy to take to work? $3,300 plus shipping. Currently my number one pick. Perhaps I could tune it with plate on the charcoal grate to make it more even. Would make a good grill.

Assassin Grill 36 or 48. Pros: lots of customizations, water pan capable, small pig capable, least expensive, easy to take to work. Cons: Grate not really adjustable. Doesn’t seem great for reverse searing steak, unless I got the 48 and set up two zone. I don't feel I'd be gaining versatility, just sq in.

MGrills M36. Same pros and cons as Klose, with the exception that it costs a little more and has no access door to the charcoal. The side tables seem a bit small. I have not seen any reviews other than by the mfr. Previous posts about left to right temp variation on older M1 had me concerned.