PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good mexican rice recipe

Titch
05-30-2020, 06:54 PM
http://allrecipes.com.au/recipe/29729/mexican-rice.aspx

Whats your thoughts or recipe

gtr
05-30-2020, 07:03 PM
It's probably not a bad recipe - never tried it. Looks like it hits the basic principles as I understand them. I'm far from an expert, but I've had great luck with Rick Bayless' recipes and I think I've made this one - can't remember. :doh:

https://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/mexican-red-rice/

The technique of sauteeing the rice in the oil before adding the water in the allrecipes recipe is more like what a Mexican woman taught me once though.

If you have some kind of stock or broth to use instead of water, I'd definitely do that. Or maybe throw in a buillon cube.

Titch
05-30-2020, 07:11 PM
It's probably not a bad recipe - never tried it. Looks like it hits the basic principles as I understand them. I'm far from an expert, but I've had great luck with Rick Bayless' recipes and I think I've made this one - can't remember. :doh:

https://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/mexican-red-rice/

The technique of sauteeing the rice in the oil before adding the water in the allrecipes recipe is more like what a Mexican woman taught me once though.

If you have some kind of stock or broth to use instead of water, I'd definitely do that. Or maybe throw in a buillon cube.

Thanks mate:thumb:

Free Mr. Tony
05-30-2020, 07:15 PM
It looks like a good recipe. Here is mine if interested. More of a tex-mex rice, but similar to the link I'm sure.