PDA

View Full Version : Which one..Choices??

DanB
04-19-2020, 08:15 AM
Hi All I'm looking to buy my 1st Pellet grill.. I need your thoughts on either of these 2 Pellet Grills, or any other ones I should look at? I would like to buy at Home Depot or Lowe's if possible for easy return if I have too.
1.RT590
2. Oklahoma Joe Rider DLX

Thanks Dan

SweetHeatBBQnSC
04-19-2020, 08:21 AM
Depends on your price point? I have done a lot of research around the $800-$900 dollar range and I feel that the RT 590 is about as good as it gets. They are stainless steel, ceramic igniter rod which is supposed to last a lot longer than other types. They have excellent customer service. The PID controller is pretty spot on, and I have heard good things about their wi-fi app (in terms of controlling the cooker; some don't like it for its simplicity). I am interested to hear others take as well because I have been researching this for several months and would to see if there are other leads I have not considered.

Ron_L
04-19-2020, 08:52 AM
I haven't seen the OK Joe in person, but know a lot of folks who cook on RecTec and they are all very happy!

1MoreFord
04-19-2020, 09:54 AM
The Camp Chef that is similar in price and features to the RecTec is the Woodwind Wifi version.

The Camp Chef *might* be available from a local dealer but the RecTec is sold only by RecTec. Only one dealer in my area has A Camp Chef available on the floor to look at but they really don't know that much about It. Lowes does sell some of the Camp Chef's but doesn't carry them locally to me and they don't sell the Wifi version. Same way with Dick's but I won't buy from Dick's if at all possible to avoid them.

I've been thinking about the Camp Chef Wifi, The Rectec, and the Grilla Siverback myself but have yet been able to make up my mind.

BTW - I do like the fire pot clean out and the pellet dump on the Camp Chefs 'cause I'm lazy.:wink:

Good Luck with your choice.

Speeed
04-19-2020, 10:36 AM