PDA

View Full Version : Boudin Help

countryrocker212
01-02-2020, 01:26 PM
I made a batch of boudin which I’ve never made before and the recipe called for adding all of the cooking liquid at the end and now it’s the consistency of oatmeal. Does it thicken up once it cools or should more rice be added? I’m not stuffing it just leaving loose. Thanks!

Swine Spectator
01-02-2020, 03:46 PM
I have been making sausage for nearly 20 years. IMHO, Boudin is the hardest sausage to make correctly. The rice absorbs liquid and seasoning right up until is doesn't.

I posted a tutorial once I thought I had it figured out:

https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=165226

countryrocker212
01-02-2020, 04:26 PM
Ingredients are very similar the main thing I notice is my recipe used 1 cup of rice to 3 ½ pounds of pork. Your texture is very different from mine.

chingador
01-02-2020, 04:33 PM
even the people who know how to make it have a hard time with consistency. It is really difficult. Most of us are better off just buying it. I would order some online. You can order from best stop in Scott, LA. It is really popular:

https://www.beststopinscott.com/product-category/boudin/

My favorite boudain for the grill is DJ's from Beaumont. The consistency and moisture is consistently perfect in my opinion. That might be personal preference however.

http://www.djsboudain.com/original-boudain-case-10-16oz-pkgs.aspx

Dustin Dorsey
01-03-2020, 01:00 PM
I've made it a few times. I've usually wound up with it slightly too dry. I chalked this up to not enough fat but it may be the water content. Last time I got my hands on some actual pork liver (I've just subbed chicken liver usually) and it turned out great (still slightly dry).

Thanks for that link, Swine Spectator. I'll be giving that recipe a shot next time I take a stab at it.

mchar69
01-03-2020, 02:58 PM