PDA

View Full Version : Brisket in a drum question

lastmajordude
12-14-2018, 09:44 AM
This you tube video has a brisket being cooked at 300 deg in a drum. It appears he doesn’t use a heat diffuser of any type so the fat hits the coals. Is this normal and what about the hot spots I always heard about? Video below

https://youtu.be/YLQNtgyUwJw

djc227
12-14-2018, 11:01 AM
I'm fairly new to drum smoking, but have been smoking for a long time. I ruined my meat at the last competition by using a diffuser (no electricity at event, so I used my new drum). Cook times were way off even though I had a probe on the grate level, and the analog thermometer was 50+ degrees off at times. I took the diffuser out and it fixed everything. It doesn't burn the food like you would suspect it would, and the drum evens out the temperature pretty well. Mine measured almost exactly the same temperature on the side of the barrel where the analog thermometer is as it did in the middle where the digital probe was. I'll probably never use the diffuser again, or if I do I'll modify it to have more air passing through.

mytmouz
12-14-2018, 11:15 AM
I cooked a lot on my UDS, and I never had a diffuser, or an issue...

sudsandswine
12-14-2018, 11:16 AM
My experience cooking with drums + large pieces of meat (pork butts, brisket, etc) was that the fat and juices did indeed drip onto the coals as you would expect, and that did change the flavor compared to another style cooker that isnt burning off that moisture on coals. I personally do not care for that flavor though people have obviously been quite successful using them. If I cooked big meats on a drum it was usually over a pan.

cowgirl
12-14-2018, 11:23 AM
I cook untrimmed briskets, fat side down in the drum. Love the way the fat crisps up. It's delicious! :grin:

HuskyJW
12-14-2018, 11:27 AM
I always use a foiled clay pot diffuser....I cook at about 300 on the therm that is on UDS. That thing is off by about 25 degrees i think...close enough