PDA

View Full Version : Help Me, Brethren.

WilliamKY
08-31-2018, 06:03 PM
I got this pig roast on Sunday. I have no experience with split wood in this offset cooker so I'm planning to use Royal Oak lump in the firebox with some hickory chunks. The pig weighs in at 32.7lbs. Will the lump suffice or should I get split (I can get it if needed)? Any other advice is most certainly welcome too. Thanks.

Joshw
08-31-2018, 06:17 PM
Never used charcoal in my offset, other than getting a good coal bed started. I think you would have to go through a lot of charcoal to cook a whole pig. I would get splits. Start your charcoal as you planned, and throw a split or two on. Once you get your temp where you want it, throw a split on, as the others burn out, just enough to maintain temps.. Good Luck!

ronbrad62
08-31-2018, 07:00 PM
I can't offer any better advice than Josh. I tried to use a stickburner as a charcoal smoker before I learned better on the Brethren. You will fight the battle all day to keep temps up, so get some splits and let them do the work. You can get bundles at Academy, if one is nearby.

WilliamKY
08-31-2018, 07:16 PM
I can't offer any better advice than Josh. I tried to use a stickburner as a charcoal smoker before I learned better on the Brethren. You will fight the battle all day to keep temps up, so get some splits and let them do the work. You can get bundles at Academy, if one is nearby.
The Walmart near my house sells bags of Western brand splits. I never see them move though so I'm hoping a closeout sale is soon and I will load up.

Joshw
08-31-2018, 07:22 PM
The Walmart near my house sells bags of Western brand splits. I never see them move though so I'm hoping a closeout sale is soon and I will load up.

I would checkout craigslist for someone selling firewood. You can probably get a rick for what you will pay for a few bags at the store.

Smoke Dawg
08-31-2018, 08:07 PM
There has to be oak in KY. You could even burn old Bourbon barrels

Westx