PDA

View Full Version : Help me with my first brisket

BigTerp
06-07-2018, 08:35 AM
I'm totally new to smoking brisket. Have done tons of ribs, chicken, pork butts, etc. on my UDS with great success. But have balked at trying a brisket, honestly because I've been nervous of screwing up such a large, relatively expensive piece of meat. So I've come here for some guidance/re-assurance. I plan to do a whole packer, wrapped in butcher paper around 150 or when the bark looks right, then pulling around 200 (depending on feel) and then into my faux cambro for an hour or three before slicing. Simple enough, right? A few questions on all of this though......

- What temp do you guys have the best results with? I've been smoking my ribs and butts at higher temperatures (250-275) lately with good results. I'm thinking 225 for a full packer would take forever, even with wrapping. Thinking that 275 or even higher would be more appropriate. About how long per lb can I roughly figure on at 275 to get a full packer up to 200 IT?

- Do you guys like to inject your briskets? If so, what do you like to use? I've read just plain beef broth works well.

- I'm planning on a simple rub of just kosker salt and coarse black pepper or maybe even Meathead's big bad beef rub. If you guys have something you like I'd love to hear about it.

- 2 layers of butcher paper appropriate for wrapping? I have never wrapped anything on my smoker, so this will be new for me as well.

- After pulling and before going into my cooler for holding, should I wrap in foil or just straight into my cooler still wrapped in butcher paper?

- What do you guys specifically look for when shopping for a full packer brisket?

This is all for a pool party at the end of the month. So I've got some time to work it all out. Thanks for any help, tips, advice!!!!

Stlsportster
06-07-2018, 08:40 AM
Try BluDawg's KISS brisket. Never fails!

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showpost.php?p=3001532&postcount=67

NickTheGreat