PDA

View Full Version : Advice for UK newbie - cooking time for pulled Pork

Hoggy1972
12-15-2017, 09:25 AM
Hi,

I'm a smoking newbie from the UK. I just built myself a UDS and i've got some friends coming over for a Xmas party this weekend and i've decided its a BBQ xmas party.

Anyway, i have a 22lb whole shoulder of pork that i want to smoke on the UDS, but being a novice, i don't know how long it will take. My test smokes have shown the UDS holds about 240F fairly solidly.

Is there a 'rule of thumb' for cooking times for Pork shoulder so i can get it on the smoker early enough?

Thanks
Hoggy...

Steve S
12-15-2017, 10:12 AM
I havent cooked a whole shoulder, but I would think 22 lbs at 240 is going to be an overnight cook, maybe 12-14 hrs. If I were in that position, I would probably cut it into 2 pieces to cut down the cook time.

Mikhail
12-15-2017, 10:14 AM
I think Steve is right. With more meat surface exposed you should get more smoke flavor too. I've had trouble getting enough smoke for my tastes in pork shoulder.

boomers bbq
12-15-2017, 12:14 PM
I would second what Steve said.
Good luck on the cook, post pictures too.

SmittyJonz
12-15-2017, 01:00 PM
Even cut in half it’ll still be 8-10 possibly 12 hr cook.

Smoking Piney
12-15-2017, 01:34 PM
Even cut in half it’ll still be 8-10 possibly 12 hr cook.

Agree.

I would go with a 12 hour time frame. If it gets done earlier, you can wrap it in foil, wrap a towel around the foil, and put it in a cooler. It will stay piping hot for several hours that way with no loss of flavor or texture.

Always better to get done early and hold than to be late with hungry guests.

SmittyJonz
12-15-2017, 03:25 PM
Cut it in Half and run 300*F and be done in 6-7 hours.

mchar69
12-15-2017, 03:51 PM
I agree with Steve and Smitty, and run it at least 275.
Cut the skin off if there is any.

Wager
12-15-2017, 04:14 PM