PDA

View Full Version : Article on a New Jersey BBQ-Brethren's Business

IamMadMan
08-09-2017, 04:08 PM
Great write up on Brethren - daninnewjersey down at the Margate Farmer's Market, Congratulations to you Brother.....

http://www.philly.com/philly/columnists/craig_laban/hot-smoked-salmon-from-margates-bbq-pit-20170712.html

They say that barbecue is a regional thing. So it’s not really all that surprising that the hottest new thing in Margate’s barbecue scene is kippered smoked salmon. Of course, Downbeach BBQ’s Dan Greenberg, a chiropractor by trade and pitmaster by passion, also makes some serious dry-rubbed pork spare ribs in the converted propane-tank smoker that has been an aromatic fixture at Margate’s Thursday morning farmers’ market that sets up in season behind Steve & Cookie’s By the Bay.

But the neighborhood’s large Jewish contingent began asking for a local smoked-salmon fix, and after considerable experimentation, Greenberg has delivered some outstanding fish. No wonder he has been selling out his weekly 25-pound batch by 10:15 a.m. Unlike the cold-smoked variety most often found in stores, which has a glossy, uncooked texture, this fish is hot-smoked or “kippered” in a simple overnight cure, then slow-cooked at a low temperature in the warm mists of Jersey oak smoke. The resulting fish has a flaky, cooked consistency, but it’s still incredibly moist and luscious, with a lightly sweet and vividly smoky profile that is ready for its beach-side schmear.

— Craig LaBan

wihint
08-09-2017, 04:52 PM
Now that is a nice article congratulations on knowing your customers and providing a great product!

Happy Hapgood
08-09-2017, 07:51 PM
Very Cool!

Smoking Piney
08-09-2017, 08:04 PM
Coming from Craig Leban - high praise indeed!

Great to see NJ folks here noted.

Well done, daninnewjersey! :whoo:

Stlsportster
08-09-2017, 09:38 PM