PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on next smokers

ckoss
06-05-2017, 09:25 AM
Hi all,

New to the site, loving how much information is shared. I'm currently a backyard cook, although I just finished my first comp a few weeks ago.
I'm evaluating what my equipment should be moving forward. Currently I have a Primo XL, an Akorn, and a Pit Boss pellet grill. I love the Primo, but its hard to compete with (moving it and adding wood while cooking.)

What would be a good setup long term for home use and small time competing? I'm considering an offset stick burner and an insulated cabinet. The cabinet would be easy to use at home, and then I could compete using both. Maybe sell the Primo?

Anyone have any thought?

Thanks!

SmittyJonz
06-05-2017, 09:55 AM
Humphrey's Pint. Or Humphrey's Down East Beast or Twin Battle Boxes.

Ron_L
06-05-2017, 10:03 AM
Think about life at a competition. Staying up most of the night to feed an affect can get old. They put out great food, but require quite a bit of tending. An insulated vertical will give you some sleep, at least.

Also, look at drums. I use Hunsaker drums and don't start the first firs until 5:45am.

Macky
06-05-2017, 11:16 AM
Think about life at a competition. Staying up most of the night to feed an affect can get old. They put out great food, but require quite a bit of tending. An insulated vertical will give you some sleep, at least.

Agree with this. You would be hard pressed to beat the functionality of a well made, insulated Vertical. There are also Verticals that are designed to run off of either Charcoal or Wood. There is a new Brethren Vertical Manufacturer called "Ironside Smokers" I believe that offers this dual fire option but I am sure there must be others.

Check this out:
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3806638#post3806638

ckoss
06-05-2017, 12:18 PM
Those are some pretty good points. If i only got an insulated vertical, would it cook enough things to compete?