PDA

View Full Version : First Time Out On My New WSM!!!

Ol Skul '66
02-27-2017, 02:37 PM
Hi Folks, I am a newbie to this site and to smoking. After following several BBQ experts and expert home cooks on YouTube, I decided to purchase a new WSM 22.5-inch version. Prior to purchasing the WSM, I used my charcoal BBQ for cooking ribs, chicken, etc. Well, no more!!! The WSM is amazing. I didn't have any trouble getting the WSM to the temperature I was aiming for, 220-230, nor did the cooker waiver from those temps. I was so impressed. It really was a set it and forget it experience. I used regular charcoal briquettes from the Kingsford blue bag and applewood chunks. Also, I decided to use a form of the Minion method I saw demonstrated so many times on YouTube and it worked like a charm. I smoked 2 racks of baby back ribs, one rack of St Louis cut ribs, all on the lower rack...then on the top rack 14 honey garlic sausages and 4 thigh-drumstick chicken quarters. Everything came out amazingly well, better than I had hoped. I think I will be enjoying my WSM quite a bit and my new hobby as well. Thanks for all of the practical info you guys have provided. :grin:

THoey1963
02-27-2017, 04:54 PM
Welocme to the forum, you'll love the WSM. Congrats on the good first cook! Next time take pics!

KevinJ
02-27-2017, 05:09 PM
Congrats on the WSM for the money they are hard to beat.

Ol Skul '66
02-27-2017, 05:12 PM
Welocme to the forum, you'll love the WSM. Congrats on the good first cook! Next time take pics!

You are so right, but when I thought of taking pics, the meat was already mostly gone! Next time I will do and thanks for the welcome!

Jason TQ
02-27-2017, 05:12 PM
Awesome! I just used mine for the first time in a while the other week and it is just so easy to run. I liked playing with the vent to see where the different temps would settle in. Sometimes I'd run it lower and sometimes I'd see how the hotter temps did. All of them cook really well.

Happy Hapgood