PDA

View Full Version : Help with soot....

sackedbysapp
02-04-2017, 05:41 PM
I've been having problem for a while with soot or black film mainly on chicken or Mac cheese or beans, just when I think I have it figured out there is again.I use oak and black cherry that been seasoned for few years.Ive tried with both vents wide open and 3/4 closed cooking at temps 250 to 300.stack wide open and clear smoke.I took some pics show what I'm dealing with.thanks for your help.

Nuco59
02-04-2017, 06:25 PM
I'm a rookie on stick burning. I'd hazard a guess that you are having air low issues. You say you have a clean burning fire but maybe your wood is smoldering a bit because you don't have a large enough coal bed for the sticks you are using? Maybe try running a smaller and hotter fire to see if the problem goes away. Check your stack make sure it is clear. Past that, I will have to defer to the stick burning gurus - they will be along shortly I'm sure. Good luck sir.

bbqpitsmoker
02-04-2017, 06:28 PM
How long do you wait for the fire to settle down after lighting before the food goes on?

sackedbysapp
02-04-2017, 06:29 PM
I looked down it few days ago all clear.i don't know how hotter i can run it with vents wide open.

Nuco59
02-04-2017, 06:39 PM
sorry boss- told you I was a rookie. Change woods, go to a smaller fire, make sure the coal bed is established, your splits are warmed and light readily. Past that, I really don't know. You have a reverse flow- do you have to have a certain amount of nose tilt to promote good air flow? (honest question)

pjtexas1
02-04-2017, 06:43 PM
Is it coming from the racks or top of the cook chamber? Lots of guys power wash the inside of their cookers and I'm thinking maybe that's one of the reasons.

sackedbysapp
02-04-2017, 07:17 PM
Get temp to 300 takes 30 45 mins.then add food.