PDA

View Full Version : Pellet Smokers

bram03
10-20-2016, 11:36 AM
Quick questions for those who know better...

Why is it whenever I have Q from a pellet smoker the bark always leaves something to be desired (as opposed to a stick burner). It was the deciding factor in me not getting one...

Does anyone else have this issue running their pellet rig?

Groundhog66
10-20-2016, 11:43 AM
I've always gotten a good bark when cooking on my MAK, perhaps it has been operator error? now if you are talking smoke flavor, then yeah, no comparison.

bbqwizard
10-20-2016, 11:58 AM
I have never had an issue with bark using any of my pellet cookers. what is it about your bark that you aren't liking?

chrischandler71
10-20-2016, 12:13 PM
I am fairly new to my Yoder 640, so I am still trying to learn it. I will say my bark is different from my other cookers. My Backwoods chubby produces a really dark bark, and when I remove butt from grates it wants to fall apart. My Yoder has more of a red bark color, and I have yet to get a butt to just come apart even though I am pulling at about same IT 198*.

chrischandler71
10-20-2016, 12:16 PM
I have only done 2 butts so far on it though. I plan to do 3 butts and a brisket this weekend and I am going to pull butts when bone wiggles instead of an IT.

Jorge
10-20-2016, 12:28 PM
I haven't had a problem with bark, or wiggly butts using my FE.

Cooking with hickory and cherry I'll wrap butts when I get the color I want, which is usually around 170 internal. Sometimes I'll take them out at 205 or more internal. It all depends on how they feel. I start checking them more often when they get to 190-195. Handling them while I wrap I get a clue about what's going on.

pigville porkers
10-20-2016, 12:32 PM
My rec tec has good bark and butts fall apart fine.. Now in the same breath my Battle Box produces a different product all together.. Just depends on what you want from it

bram03
10-20-2016, 12:48 PM