PDA

View Full Version : Poor Man's first build

Piomarine
07-01-2016, 01:31 AM
For my first post I would first like to say "Hi!" from Arlington, TX. I am a senior at TCU and severely lacking in the cooker-fund department. I am an experienced smoke chef and I have been strongly considering making my first smoker. I want to go on the larger size to accommodate some of the parties I have been asked to cook for in the past. I understand that they are not real efficient, but I have been looking at the double and triple barrel designs and think that I could make some real improvements to help increase the efficiency while still keeping the price under $400.

Below are some CAD renderings of what I am looking at in terms of basic design. The firebox would be fully insulated in 1 1/4" firebrick and mortar, and all seams welded. The design is a modified triple barrel designed to resemble the "Diamond Plate Pit" style of the firebox behind the cooking chamber.

I already have a line on a trailer (likely for free) which will cut down on cost considerably, and I can get clean, non-lined, food-grade barrels around here for $15-20. I would love any comments, questions, or concerns any/all of you have.

JohnnyB
07-01-2016, 06:51 AM
You may want to reevaluate your firebox vent placement, either adding some on the door end, or placing them somewhat evenly spaced along the long side (lefthand looking at FB door). With a two FB/CC inlet setup, and vents on only one end, the fire will only burn on that end, and the smoke will only go through the closest inlet to the CC. The far end will be starved.

4ever3
07-01-2016, 07:18 AM
The intake and the pipe from the fire box to the cook chambers will make the drum on the intake side burn hotter than the other.

I'm thinking a smaller firebox with the door and the intake opposite the cook chamber doors (facing the tongue.)

pjtexas1
07-01-2016, 07:25 AM
or you could crack the fb door the equivalent amount of the intakes on the opposite side.