PDA

View Full Version : wrapping a shoulder

bubba27028
05-23-2016, 01:58 PM
have had a cpl people say that after 7 hours of smoking wrap and either oven it to 200 or just put it back in the smoker. I have 2 dumb question and please keep in mind I am a novice at this ...but want to learn

why do you not want smoke on the shoulder after 7 hours?

and number 2 question if I put the shoulder in a pan and cover it with foil is that the same as wrapping? or do I need to wrap foil 100 percent around the meat like a Christmas present?

MakeItHappenBBQ
05-23-2016, 02:12 PM
I personally don't wrap my pork shoulders at all.. Not during the cook at least.. Once they're done, I may wrap to hold them until it's time to eat.. I have wrapped a couple times in a pinch when I am pressed for time, but not a typical practice for me.

You should try both methods and see which you prefer IMO.

diggles
05-23-2016, 02:22 PM
I usually put them in a foil pan covered in foil after a while when it's got good bark, usually at the early point in the stall. Speeds up cooking time and I also usually crank up the heat at that point. The bark is softer than going naked the whole cook, but I don't mind.

yakdung
05-23-2016, 02:31 PM
Use this champion as your guide.
http://www.slapyodaddybbq.com/2012/04/slap-yo-daddy-bone-in-pork-butt-2/

G'Daddy
05-23-2016, 02:39 PM
I personally don't wrap my pork shoulders at all.. Not during the cook at least.. Once they're done, I may wrap to hold them until it's time to eat.. I have wrapped a couple times in a pinch when I am pressed for time, but not a typical practice for me.

You should try both methods and see which you prefer IMO.
Ditto :wink:

bubba27028
05-23-2016, 02:40 PM
so after 7hours (number I keep hearing a lot) if I wrap it there is no need for smoke? I was always under the impression that you kept smoke going at all times? that or I watch to much tv

Grimm5577
05-23-2016, 02:46 PM