PDA

View Full Version : Chicken thighs best temperature & Lid on / off question

Ummagumma
05-18-2016, 04:09 PM
I am transitioning from years of using gas, and am so very slowly learning my way around charcoal.

(This place needs a complete newbie's section... I feel embarrassed for asking some basic questions).

So, on Sunday we figured we won't have a chance to cook much on anything for most of the week, and I quickly marinaded about 10 lbs of chicken thighs. Monday got to grill and almost immediately it started raining (the rain that the weather man swore wouldn't be here until after 10 pm hit at 7). Nevertheless, I managed to get through all of the chicken + some burgers, even though I had to add brickets midway.

Now, here's two questions that are very basic..

1) Usually, when using my Weber kettle and about a chimney full load of brickets, I get about 400F or higher shown on the lid thermometer, that seems to be working just fine for steaks. However I always have many partially burned brickets left, feels like a waste. So I decided to use about 60% full chimney & keep the temperature around 300F. It came out well, however it seems to me that even a lower temp & perhaps longer grill time would work even better, especially for adding more smoke flavor & keeping the chicken juicy ?

2) My gas bbq does not have a thermometer. I used to keep the lid open & adjust the flame as seemed fit. I got pretty good at eyeballing the chicken (steak needs a thermometer). Now, with kettle I am a bit hesitant to keep the lid off. Seems this may result in the brickets burning faster & not being able to maintain steady temperature. Are there any tricks to grilling with lid off ?

Thanks !

(I just had some of the cold chicken & the taste is just so much better compared to the gas... I can actually taste the hickory smoke & overall flavor is great)

Yendor
05-18-2016, 04:21 PM
There is some great advice coming, I guarantee it. I have a question first.