PDA

View Full Version : Got a new smoker tonite

chris1281982
11-09-2006, 11:57 PM
My wife and I went to pick up my new smoker this evening, I purchased a Old Country bbq pit. The pits are built in Texas. Just curious to see who has one or has cooked on one? I can finally get rid of the Char-griller. One more question? How long do you let your wood season before you start using it. I cut down some hickory trees 2 weeks and the wood was split that same day, it has also been stored in our heated garaged.

Thanks for the help

chris

nonthink
11-10-2006, 12:55 AM
I’m no expert on seasoning wood, but I’m pretty sure 2 weeks isn’t nearly enough.

Oh yeah, and good luck with the new shmoker

alages
11-10-2006, 12:59 AM
Congrats on the new smoker!!! I'm sure you'll be eating some great Q during the next weeks. Sorry I can't help you with the wood question (I have a pellet muncher) but I've read posts that mention guys waiting a year before they burn split wood to make sure it is dry enough.
Enjoy the new smoker!

FatDaddy
11-10-2006, 01:00 AM
6months is about average for seasoning wood

JamesB
11-10-2006, 02:59 AM
6, 9 or 12 months depending on a lot of things. Type of wood, humidity where it is stored etc. You will know it is ready when you start to see cracking in the end grains. Also when you can take two pieces and whack them together and they sound like two baseball bats clunking...

How about some pictures of that new pit? I ain't heard of them before...

James.

Puppyboy
11-10-2006, 03:38 AM
A 6 month season on the wood before it is used here.

chris1281982
11-10-2006, 06:00 AM
I will post some pictures this evening when I get back from work.

Thanks for the help!!!!!!!

Chris

tjus77
11-10-2006, 07:18 AM
Congratulations! Happy cooking! Don't forget pics of food too!

kickassbbq
11-10-2006, 08:37 AM
I'm going with The FatDaddy Man,
6 months if it has been split.

Smoke On!!!!!

BBQ_MAFIA
11-10-2006, 12:36 PM
Congrats on the new cooker.

backyardchef