PDA

View Full Version : How long to smoke

walley_eye
08-30-2015, 09:01 AM
I have read different things in regards to how long you're supposed to keep the smoke going while smoking.

Just yesterday I read only 1/2 hour but previously I was under the understanding you keep it going the whole time.

What say you?

BaronVonOttomatic
08-30-2015, 09:13 AM
That would depend on what you're cooking and how much smoke you want on it when it's done. I cook on a wood-fired smoker so the amount of smoke varies as wood is added to the firebox, but there's smoke from beginning to end.

If you wrap a piece of meat there's no point in keeping smoke going.

smokingkettle
08-30-2015, 09:18 AM
I'm no expert but it seems that it would be pointless to have smoke going once something is wrapped. Now, if you don't wrap, that's a different story. I did my first brisket yesterday. I did three fist-sized hickory and one mesquite chunk and those sent out blue smoke for like 6 straight hours. I had a really strong smoke ring. I received advice to add more smoking wood than that through out. I forgot to take the advice, yet was happy with how it turned out anyway. To be honest, any more smoke than that and I probably wouldn't have liked it as much. I guess the point is that it's subjective.

I've always feared over smoking and making my food bitter. As a result, I've always been on the conservative side.

Bludawg
08-30-2015, 09:31 AM
^^^ same here^^^ your best bet is to bury 3-5man fist chunks of wood in your unlit charcoal. BBQ is simple don't over think it. IDK where your getting all this bad info from but your confusing yourself with it. The interwerbs are full of self proclaimed experts full of misinformation. Sites like FNW &CC are the worst then there is that BBQ U fellar :tsk: YT "The BBQ PitBoys" they're the real deal for good info & recipes if your a visual learner and come here for your answers and advice that is what the Brethren do Mentor green horns and turn 'em into Pitmasters.