PDA

View Full Version : Akorn Kamando Kooker $175

IllinoidRick
08-28-2015, 10:20 PM
Picked up an Akorn cooker close out display model today at Meijer for $175. Nothing missing. Some minor scratches on top but all parts are intact. Could not pass it up for the price. You cant have enough cookers!!!

Are there some threads to tell me how to cook on this new cooker? I did some searching and came up with nada. Just people on Youtube telling me to soak my chips and choke the fire for thick white smoke.

What should I cook first on an insulated cooker? I have several Weber's of different sizes, a PBC and a cheapo Gasser. I have no experience with a Komando style cooker.

Are there any Mods required to a new Akorn to make it cook good BBQ??

I see they offer a pizza stone. Is this a must have?

How do I start a fire in this type of cooker? Any helpfull hints or directions?

jbounds286
08-28-2015, 11:42 PM
soaking chips for thick white smoke sounds great! :crazy:

ebijack
08-29-2015, 04:35 AM
Some of the Acorns have a lot of air leaks an are very hard to control low n slow temps. There are quite a few mods that can be done if you'd like to improve it's usage. Quite a few folks are of the camp of just cook with it the way it is. I wasn't. But that's me. Here is a some of the mods I did to the one I used to have. If you decide you want a S.S. grate, let me know.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3134109&posted=1#post3134109

ButtBurner
08-29-2015, 07:12 AM
Ebijack's mods are clever and add a lot of versatility to the Akorn. I am going to a few of them

IllinoidRick
08-29-2015, 07:27 AM
Ebijack, Thanks for the link. I am used to temp control on Weber kettles of different sizes. I will do a few practice runs with a water pan to see how my new toy works. if its not steady, I will try the mods you posted.

Your bottom vent mod to seal around the vent control and to reduce the inlet size for better control is genius. Looks pretty simple to make.