PDA

View Full Version : Need Shipping Options For My Upcoming Shirley Build

AZRaptor
08-27-2015, 01:52 AM
So I'm slated to have my Shirley smoker built in the next couple months and need to figure out how to get it out here to AZ. I looked at driving out to meet the crew and pick it up, but I'm looking at $650+ just in gas for the round trip. I know uship.com is an option, but I've never used the site before and wondered if people had specific movers/haulers they would recommend.

With all of the custom pits being built these days they can't all be getting picked up in person, so I know there's got to be some folks out there with some recommendations.

bonehead762
08-27-2015, 03:10 AM
Whew! That's a very long drive.

riblover81
08-27-2015, 06:08 AM
Be a great road trip IMO, plenty of BBQ joints to hit along the way!

JohnnyB
08-27-2015, 06:25 AM
Most shipping places get $1/lb (give or take). Factor that in, and see what works best. Can you miss work without losing too much time/money? That being said, like riblover said, you could turn that into an EPIC road trip. Me personally, I would drive out. If you have never travelled with at smoker attached to your truck, the looks and attention you get are priceless. Even people who don't use them are amazed by the sight of them. And im sure the Shirley you're getting is gonna be quite a sight.

DanB
08-27-2015, 07:19 AM
Hi All I'm in the same situtation, need options for shipping a Lang 36" Patio to North New Jersey 07652.
Thanks DanB

Shagdog
08-27-2015, 07:59 AM
$650 in gas doesn't sound like a bad cost to me.. I doubt you're going to find anyone willing to ship it to you for less.. From Chicago down to Tuscaloosa and back only cost me about $350 in diesel to drive it... Lowest shipping I saw was $7-800.. Its a great time to do it yourself, as gas prices are so low.