PDA

View Full Version : Ready for A WSM...

Rich M
07-18-2015, 03:49 PM
Being a newbie...ready to get my first smoker..before I take the plunge into building a UDS :wink:

Since I'm very familiar with Weber Kettle grills over the years, and have owned over a dozen, thinking about taking the plunge and purchasing a WSM... Since it will be the first smoker I've owned..and being a newbie, I'm thinking on the 18.5" Dia in lieu of the 22.0"....

Input would be appreciated...

On a side note..When I was regularly traveling to Slovakia to visit the in laws..there was a homemade smokehouse in every other house in the village that I visited... October is generally the Hog slaughtering time of year..and the mountain aired smelled wonderful that time of year..and the eats were awesome. Typical smokers were built from corrugated steel, could hold up to 350 lbs of hog, and smoked with Oak....

Have a great weekend everyone...

Rich

yakdung
07-18-2015, 03:52 PM
Smart move on the WSM. The smoke houses you describe remind me of years gone by in South Louisiana.
http://cowgirlscountry.blogspot.com/2008/01/building-cold-smoker-smokehouse.html

THoey1963
07-18-2015, 03:55 PM
If you think the 18.5" is good enough for you, get the 22.5". Decide the size you need and then get the next bigger. You may not need all the space, all the time, but it is better to have too much space than not enough space.

Love my 22.5, but out grew it in a years time...

Big_Alvin
07-18-2015, 04:11 PM
you can't go wrong with the wsm, but i will second Terry's advice, go for the 22.5" you'll be glad you didi

Rich M
07-18-2015, 04:21 PM
^^^^^^

Thank you kindly for the advise... I was thinking the same...

Unfortunately, can't find a 22" at a local distributor..so more than likely need to do the internet thing ....

yakdung
07-18-2015, 04:25 PM
^^^^^^

Thank you kindly for the advise... I was thinking the same...